Volunteer Stories: Delores

2016, Be Inspired, Get Involved, Uncategorized
The industry  volunteers who work on the Fashion Futures project are a crucial element of it’s ongoing success. As well as giving up their time, sharing their skills and supporting the young people they inspire and act as positive role models. We caught up with new volunteer Delores.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

My name is Delores Oblitely, my career background is within fashion knitwear design, I design mainly menswear. I studied for a Masters at Nottingham Trent University. You can currently see my collection entitled ‘Home is But a Dream I Sometimes Dare to Recall’ showcased at the Black Cultural Archive.

Why volunteer with FAD?

This is my first Fashion Futures as a volunteer not a student. I did the course as myself in 2006, so long ago…Since then I’ve realised how important it was and I wanted to be part of it again. I really enjoy supporting the teenagers. Working with these young people, seeing their ideas and their mindset – it’s fun doing that. And the staff are really good to work with too.

Screen Shot 2016-04-08 at 11.27.44

How did Fashion Futures help you on your career journey?

It opened my eyes up. When I signed up as a teenager I did Textiles at school. When I came here I learnt about the actual fashion design process, and how far I had to go and how hard I needed to work. It was good learning, and I went on to study fashion at Lincoln and do MA in fashion Knitwear Design at Nottingham Trent.

How does volunteering benefit you?

It helps me go away and be more motivated and focused in my own work. If I’m helping them I need to show that I’m really doing something myself. It’s great to give back to a project that really had an impact on me.

Thank you to all our volunteers past and present. If you’d like to volunteer with FAD, please get in touch – info@fad.org.uk

FF2016 Sponsors

 

Leave a Reply

