FAD Stories: Simone Hinds

FAD Stories, Fashion Futures
2009 Fashion Futures finalist, Simone Hinds, was named as Designer of the Year at the University of Hertfordshire’s Graduate Fashion Show last Wednesday evening (10 June), for her outstanding final collection.

Simone, 23, won the Ted Baker Award for Designer of the Year at the high-profile event, held at The Yard in Shoreditch, and has been offered a work placement at Ted Baker over the summer.

Inspired by the African slave trade and drawing on both the Victorian and Elizabethan era, Simone’s stylish collection features narrow waistlines with volume above and below the waist.

Simone said: “I’m thrilled to have won Designer of the Year at this year’s Graduate Fashion Show and delighted that my hard work has been recognised, particularly as all of the collections on show were so strong this year. Winning this is definitely the highlight of my degree.”

Talking about her passion for design, Simone said, “My mum taught me to sew from the age of six – I have always been happiest when I’m sewing and designing, so there is no question that I wanted to pursue this for a degree and a career. I believe that if you really love something you should pursue it and follow your dreams; for me I really love fashion design.”

Words taken from the University of Hertfordshire website. Read the full article here.

Are you a past FAD student with a story to share? Email FAD or get in touch via twitter@fadcharity.

 

Leave a Reply

