Meet the Fashion Futures Finalist: Hayat, 17

2014, FAD Stories, Fashion Futures

Hayat brings a touch of gothic romance to tonight’s Fashion Futures Final with her black leather and lace design. FAD catches up with the Newham finalist to talk about what made her get involved with FAD. 

Why did you apply for Fashion Futures?

I’m really interested in fashion, so I thought the more courses I participate in the more it will help me when I start applying for universities.

What have you learnt about yourself as a person since doing the Fashion Futures project?

I’ve become more confident with interacting with people I don’t know. I’ve also learnt so many new skills that will help me later on in life.

Hayat_FF14 (1)

Where do you hope to see yourself in 2 years?

Hopefully I’ll be studying fashion design at university. 

What do you think are the challenges young people like yourself face when trying to get a job in industry?

The competition. The fashion industry is really competitive so it’s going to be really hard trying to make yourself stand out.

Do you think FAD has helped you overcome any challenges?

Definitely. I think the Fashion Futures course has given me experience and opportunities that will make me more attractive to employers when I’m applying for work placements or internships.

Hayat_FF14 (2)

What do you think of FAD and George at Asda working together to provide young people with the opportunity to take part in fashion projects?

I think it’s really good that we get this chance. It can really help you if you are interested in studying fashion design or want a career in the industry.

Would you say Fashion Futures is important for young people like you?

Yeah, definitely. Especially if you’re dedicated to what you want to do.

 

Leave a Reply

