Meet the Fashion Futures Finalist: Toni, 18

2014, FAD Projects, FAD Stories, Fashion Futures
Toni, 18, is just one of the many young people sponsored by George at Asda to take part in FAD’s Fashion Futures project. The Bromley finalist is focused on a career in the creative industries, and is already proving she is not afraid to take risks when it comes to design.

We catch up with Toni during the recent FAD workshops at the University of East London to talk about the Fashion Futures final and her hopes for a creative future.

What made you want to take part in Fashion Futures?

My teacher said it would be a good experience for me to do FAD. It feels really great to be here – I honestly didn’t think I would get through.

How has this week been making your garment for London Fashion Week?

On Monday I felt like ‘yeah I can do this’ – but I’m just learning to just take each day as it comes. Doing things step by step.

FF2014_Toni_01 (2)

Tell us about your design

My garment is sports inspired, using jersey and perforated leather. I wanted it to be the sort of dress you would see an artist wearing on MTV – comfortable but elegant.

What are your hopes for the future?

I want to go to uni, or to do an apprenticeship in fashion. I would love to be a womenswear designer one day.

FF2014_Toni_01 (1)

What do you think about FAD?

FAD are interesting, because you don’t see this sort of organisation very often. They are really helping me to work out my future.

What is on the one thing this whole experience has taught you?

When I try my hardest I can actually do quite well. With FAD I’m really trying to do everything well and be precise.

What do you think of Toni’s design? Tweet us @fadcharity. Look out for more interviews with our young finalists who will be showcasing their designs at London Fashion Week this September.

Leave a Reply

