Jet Setting

FAD Stories, Leadership Academy
Ever wondered what it would be like to work at the Winter Olympics? Fashion photographer and leadership academy member Kat Drury, embarked on a once in a lifetime experience and journeyed to the 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi to work exclusively for Mosimann’s Restaurant (London) as their in house photographer.

Kat---Winter-Olympics-2

“My first photography contract took me over to Russia, to the Sochi 2014 Winter Olympics for Mosimann’s Restaurant London. My job was to document them during the Olympic Games as they were doing the catering for many Olympic houses such as Canada, Switzerland and Norway, as well as running events out of the Olympic Park. I had around a week to prepare myself and get everything in order and then headed off to catch a flight to Sochi.

I arrived late at night and was met by a lovely group of people who instantly made me feel at ease. The next morning I headed off to get my accreditation for working in the park – of course I forgot my passport the one vital piece of identification I needed to get my accreditation. So I had to go back to the hotel to pick up my passport but all was well – I headed into the park for my first day of shooting.

Once I had got my bearings I spent the 10 days snapping chefs, restaurant staff, food, locations and the guests – to create a series of images that documented the beginning of Mosimann’s at the 2014 Winter Olympics. As well as photography I also produced a short video.

The experience allowed me to really see a behind the scenes take of the Olympics. I was able to go to the Olympic Park and visit Mountains clusters – I was also lucky enough to experience the parks before they opened to the public. Although before I left England I was extremely nervous this job has given me more confidence and has allowed me to experience something I never would have and I suppose that is why I love photography as it is a chance to experience the unknown.”

Post by Kat Drury, photography student, Leadership Academy member and winner of the 2009 FAD Junior Awards

Leave a Reply

