Meeting the Fashion Future Finalists: Hannah Tasane

FAD Stories

Hannah Tasane, 17, from Lewisham

Picture 138How does it feel to be a part of fashion futures 2013?

It feels awesome, it’s been amazing and I’ve leant so much.

Describe the garment you’re in the process of making?

Well, it’s a crop top with a pencil skirt and then a jacket to go with it. It’s all black and white but with colourful sleeves.

Where did you search for your inspiration?

I was walking around London and I ended up at the Southbank where I saw all the graffiti. I liked the way the walls ended up having layers upon  layers of paint that created all these different patterns and textures. I wanted to create something that had a lot going on, I didn’t want it to look like a graffiti just the busyness of it all.

What have you learnt over the period of the summer school?

I’ve learnt I have to check things a lot and I’ve learnt a number of new techniques and things like pattern cutting, zips and hiding seams, these are things I’m definitely going to use in the future.

What’s been the best part of these few weeks?

Starting to see your garments coming together, once it’s on the stand it starts to look how you wanted it to. It’s really satisfying to see that.

What are your future plans?

I don’t know what I want to do yet but definitely something to do with fashion and construction of garments but I haven’t completely decided.  FAD has helped though, it’s taught me a lot more about the industry.

What do think is the hardest aspect of getting into the fashion industry?

There are so many people who want to be in the fashion world, so it’s quite hard to get yourself noticed and also finding the right connections, but again, FAD has helped me with that.

What could the Arts industry do more of to help younger students like yourself get a career going in the creative industries?

There should be more charitable companies like FAD but also more things aimed at younger people and designers like graduate fashion week for designers that are less well known.

What do your friends and family think of you taking part in Fashion Futures?

They think it’s really good and they just hope I take something away from it and that I learn a lot from my time here.

What advice would you give to other young people who are thinking about taking part in future FAD fashion Future projects?

Make things that you actually want to make and take inspiration from something your truly inspired by.

What do you think of FAD?

It’s really useful and it’s helped me a lot so – yeah it’s been really good.

The Fashion Futures project is supported by George at Asda, and is set to come to an exciting conclusion on Tuesday 17th September at the 2013 FAD Junior Awards. Find out more about Fashion Futures via the FAD website HERE.

One thought on “Meeting the Fashion Future Finalists: Hannah Tasane

  1. Hello,

    I am very interested in fashion, as i have been for a few years, and i was wondering if there are any courses for 15 year olds this summer?

    Thanks,

    Violet Wilson 15

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

