Meeting the Fashion Future Finalists: Yosana De Ceita Rodrigues Leal

2013, FAD Stories

Join us every week as we introduce a selection of the 2013 Fashion Future Finalists who will be showing their garments at the upcoming FAD Junior Awards. 

Yosana De Ceita Rodrigues Leal, 18 from Enfield

Picture 174

How does it feel to be an FAD Finalist?

I actually feel privileged to be here. I never expected to have come this far because every ones work has been so strong. I didn’t think I’d get in but I am so pleased and shocked that I managed it!

Describe the garment that you’re currently making for London Fashion Week?  

It’s not your usual garment. It’s not asymmetric because one side of the neck collar is higher than the other. I wanted to try something different and stand out from the crowd a bit. Also it’s given me a bit of a new challenge to work with.

Where did your inspiration come from?

It was inspired by a chair I came across in the Victoria and Albert Museum (Atfield Chair, designed in 1992 by designer Jane Atfield.)

2006AM4402_jpg_ds

It was just a normal chair except it had this really colourful print (the chair is made from melted plastic bottles which gives the surface, an almost painterly effect.) I took the colours from the chair and I was also interested in it’s geometric shapes and lines so that was also inspired by the chairs structure.

What experiences and skills have you gained over your time at FAD?

Throughout the whole course I’ve become a lot more independent. I’ve learnt a whole bunch of things that you don’t get trained in at school. Like learning how to do pattern cut for example, we’ve been properly trained in that. We’ve been given time to practice it again and again so we can get it right. It enables us to understand the skills behind it all.

Also the FAD tutors guidance has given me things like sticking to a dead line and having the confidence to step it up a gear.

What’s been your favourite part of the Fashion Futures experience so far?

Going to the George studios because I’d never heard of all the different careers in the fashion industry before and I heard all about becoming a fashion forecaster, so if design doesn’t work out for me I think that would be another option. It’s given me the awareness of other directions I could go down.

What is your plan for the future?

I like designing things, but  as long as I’m being creative every day. I think that’s the main thing.

What do you think is the most challenging part of getting into the fashion industry is?

Networking and making connections!

What do you think the industry could do more of to help young people like yourself gain the experience and find the connections?

More things like FAD really – but looking at different areas not just making and designing. Gaining skills for the other jobs that are out there.

How do you feel about knowing your showing your own design at London Fashion Week?

I feel SO excited…

Are you nervous?

Not yet, but I think a few days before the show I will be.

Do you feel prepared?

It’s been a long week and when I’ve finished making everything I’ll be relieved and happy with what I’ve achieved.

What do you think about FAD Fashion Futures?

It has been fun, it’s been useful and it’s been helpful. It gives you an understanding of what you actually want to do in life.

What advice would you give others wanting to do Fashion Futures next year?

Just enjoy it. Make the most of it and enjoy every single opportunity that FAD gives you, including all the workshops because they’re always interesting and worthwhile.

The Fashion Futures project is supported by George at Asda, and is set to come to an exciting conclusion on Tuesday 17th September at the 2013 FAD Junior Awards. Find out more about Fashion Futures via the FAD website HERE.

Leave a Reply

