FAD Stories: 3 Years On, Sinead

FAD Stories, Leadership Academy
Sinead, 20, was a finalist in the 2010 FAD Junior Awards when she was 18. As well as volunteering in FAD workshops, she is also a member of the newly formed FAD Leadership Academy.  Three years on from taking part in the Fashion Futures project we catch up with the talented young designer.
FADStories_Sinead_01
Tell us what you are up to these days Sinead?

“I’m currently at Central Saint Martins doing a BA in Fashion Design with Knitwear. I’ve managed to do a few good internships already. My aim is to graduate with enough technical skills to get me further placements and eventually a job. At this stage I don’t think I want to be a designer; my ultimate goal is to become a buyer.“

How has being part of FAD benefited you?

“I studied textiles at college so my work was pretty much fabric based and not really about making. Doing Fashion Futures 2 taught me how to pattern cut and sew. It exposed me to what I would be doing at uni if I went on to study design. I think if I didn’t do Fashion Futures 1 when I was 14 years old, I definitely wouldn’t have thought to do Fashion Futures 2. Without FAD I wouldn’t be as interested in design as I am now.”

What was the best part of being a Fashion Futures Finalist?

“Being a finalist in the FAD Junior Awards helped me a lot, because I was able to get internships afterwards. Designers want to see that you can actually make and having done the course with FAD I was able to show a finished garment. I had a lot of work from FAD to put into my portfolio that I didn’t have from college or doing foundation.”

FADStories_Sinead_02
What other opportunities have you had through FAD?

“Well now I’ve had the opportunity to volunteer with FAD, helping with the embroidery project, I think the main thing I’ve learnt is how much work the FAD team put in for each project. It’s nice to see people who actually care about your progression in work and life in general.”

What do you think are the challenges facing creative young people like you?

“I know a lot of funding has been cut, especially at the college where I did my A-levels. Sadly I don’t think people take creative subjects as seriously as say sciences. Which is silly, because everyone wears clothes; buildings need to be designed by creative people.”

What piece of advice would you give to other young people?

“Don’t be like me and be frightened of doing anything. At FAD there will always be someone there to help you. Just enjoy yourself.”

What is your dream for the future?

“To adopt ten kids and live in a house made of cemented knit samples.”

Leave a Reply

