My Graduate Fashion Week: Shermmaine, 16

FAD Stories
It’s been quite a week for FAD and our Fashion Futures teens at Graduate Fashion Week 2012! Thanks to our committed sponsors George at Asda for making it so memorable.

FAD students have spent the week attending shows, gaining valuable careers advice and winning incredible prizes.

One of those students, 16 year-old Shermmaine Telan from Hackney, won the gold medal in the FAD & George ‘Best of British Design Competition’.  She was presented with a voucher and exclusive VIP ticket to the Graduate Fashion Week Gala Evening by George Brand Director, Fiona Lambert.

Here’s what she had to say about her Graduate Fashion Week experience.

Monday…Winning Gold

Me collecting my award from George Brand Director, Fiona Lambert

“Winning the FAD & George design competition was so surreal for me. Receiving the Gold medal from Brand Director Fiona was just so unexpected and such an amazing feeling.

The whole day was amazing. I was able to observe the graduate’s designs, look at all the high quality portfolios and the uniqueness of each university, but I also loved seeing how each of them created their own innovative and eye-catching stands with such effort.  It gave me so many ideas!

A close up from the University of East London stand and front row at the shows!

I loved Northumbria University’s stand

Great wall of photos and a bag with a batman mask!

I’ve learnt a lot from going to the Graduate Fashion Week but I think being given the chance to see three different catwalk shows with the George team (with front row seats!) in one day must be my highlight! The shows and universities that stood out for me were Nottingham Trent, East London and Northumbria University.”

Wednesday…a Night out with George

Me arriving at the Gala Show with my ticket

“Going to the Gala Show was such a wonderful experience. It genuinely felt really exclusive to be among famous designers and celebrities, such as Barbara Hulanicki (founder of BIBA), Jeff Banks (founder of GFW), Caroline Flack and many more.

At the end of the show waiting for the Graduate Fashion Week Gold Award winner to be announced was pretty exciting. For a minute, I imagined myself receiving an award, having the confetti fall above me whilst walking along the catwalk and experiencing what it’s like to be fashion designer. It was a really special evening and I feel very lucky to have been there.

The Graduate Fashion Week Gold Award winner

I would really like to thank the George team and FAD for creating competitions like this to enhance and showcase young people’s talent in fashion. Especially I would like to thank Kausar, who is a designer at George, for sharing her interesting stories and experiences from her career and the advice that she has given me. It will definitely help starting out in my own career.”

Well done to Shermmaine! Look out for more blog posts coming from our Graduate Fashion Week teens soon.
Leave a Reply

