Designer Teens in Conversation with George at Asda: Georgia, 17

FAD Stories

FAD sponsor, GEORGE at Asda, has interviewed six talented Fashion Futures 2 students about their FAD experience; love of fashion and the designers that inspire them most. In this post we meet Georgia, 17, from South London.

Hobbies: Drawing, playing video games, reading.

Hi Georgia. Can you start by telling us what you think the FAD workshops are about?

G: The FAD workshops are about helping young students understand the world of fashion and learning how to compete in such a competitive industry. They’re also about learning how to work as team.

What activities during the workshops did you enjoy most and why?

G: We learnt to drape, draw, print using various techniques, design our garments as well as making each garment bit-by-bit. My favourite activity has to be the print workshop we had during the half-term. I had done two of the techniques before and hadn’t really enjoyed them, however this time I found them a lot easier and understood why they could be used in garment designs.

What have you learnt from the FAD workshops? 

G: The FAD workshops have helped me immensely as I have learnt a lot about various degrees of fashion. I have learnt that fashion isn’t just clothes on racks, but the processes behind it and that has made me curious to find out where I fit in. They have also helped and taught me how to create my own garments, so if I were to open my own boutique or make my own clothes I can, and I can do it with confidence as I’ll know what to do from these workshops.

As part of the Fashion Futures 2 project, you came to visit us in the design studio at George. Can you tell us a little bit about the visit and how it was useful to you?

G: My visit to George taught me that people don’t just sit behind a desk and draw all day, but they get outside, they travel around the world and they do work hard. It has helped me by almost forcing me to think about what I want to do in fashion and ask myself where I fit in.

How would you describe your own style?

G: I don’t know if you can call picking clothes at random a style, but if it is then that is my style!

Who is your favourite designer and why?

G: If I were to choose a favourite designer it would be a tough call between Betsey Johnson and Vivienne Westwood, both designers know their audience and stay true to their original styles in way that they haven’t made two collections look exactly the same as the last.

Leave a Reply

