Designer Teens in Conversation with George at Asda: Angela, 17

FAD Stories

FAD sponsor, GEORGE at Asda, interviews six talented Fashion Futures 2 students about their FAD experience; love of fashion and the designers that inspire them most. In this post we meet talented young designer Angela, aged 17,  from South London.

Hi Angela. Can you start by telling us what are the FAD workshops about?

A: FAD is an organisation that runs courses and events involving fashion to help students develop skills to benefit us in the future. The course I have been taking is about the process of making a garment, including the designing, technical drawings, pattern cutting and construction.

What activities during the workshops did you enjoy most and why? 

A: Fashion illustration, designing, printing as well as draping – where we were supplied with a large piece of fabric and the reins were passed to us to drape, cut and manipulate the fabric on a mannequin as we pleased. I found this really enjoyable as I was able to see how fabric can be manipulated in different ways and I came up with some design ideas which I never would have thought of when just putting pen to paper.  What I really enjoyed most was designing, allowing myself to be a little more daring and experimental was a bit harder then it seemed but once I got going my designs began to improve.

What have you learnt from the FAD workshops?  

A: I have learnt a vast amount from my experience at FAD. I’ve learnt how to use an industrial sewing machine, which can be daunting at first but with practice my skills really developed, I’ve also been given an exclusive insight into the reality of making a garment and how much work goes into it (which is a great deal!) as well as what life is like in the world of work and university, just by talking to FAD teachers and mentors. I feel that I have also grown as a person. I’m more aware of the different possibilities within fashion but also when going into shops, I’m more appreciative of the work and effort that has gone into just one garment.

As part of the Fashion Futures 2 project, you came to visit us in the design studio at George. Can you tell us a little bit about the visit and how it was useful to you?

A: The industry trip to George ASDA widened my perspective to the world of fashion buying, designing, market research and even journalism. There are so many different jobs under the grand umbrella of ‘Fashion’ and I have been inspired to do more research and explore a little deeper into even more possibilities. By listening to some members of staff at the George office I was intrigued by their experiences, the places they’d been to and were going to go to. Although their jobs appeared glamorous, it was evident that a lot of hard work and effort followed, but it all seems worth it!

How would you describe your own style? 

A: I feel that I have quite a distinctive style that comes across in my designs and FAD has helped me nurture that. I like alternative aspects within a garment and quite surrealist ideas.

Do you have a favourite designer? What is it about them that captures your imagination?

A: Elsa Schiaparelli, although she is not particularly famous now, she was an amazing, inspiring and innovative designer during the 1930s. Her surrealist designs such as the lobster dress and leopard hat have are in fact still influencing fashion today. I am strongly influenced by her designs and like to add some quirkiness to mine in any way I can, be it in the way I manipulate my fabric or the way in which I execute a surface design.

Leave a Reply

